Cookie Consent by Free Privacy Policy Generator Update cookies preferences

On Air Now

Emma Caldwell

6:00am - 10:00am

  • Jamline 01296 929929

Now Playing

Mimi Webb

House On Fire


New Aylesbury town Mayor formerly declared at Mayor Making Ceremony

The official inauguration of Aylesbury’s new Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor took place on Friday 17 May at Aylesbury College.

The ceremony takes place each year to inaugurate the new Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Aylesbury. Cllr Steven Lambert is the outgoing Mayor of Aylesbury for 2023-24 and Cllr Alan Sherwell is the new Mayor for the town. 

Steven Charman, a teacher from Turnfurlong Junior School, was presented with the Freda Roberts Community Award. The award is given each year to commend those who dedicate their lives to their community, just as the late Mrs Freda Roberts MBE, a stalwart within the Aylesbury community did. Passed away in 2021.

During Cllr Lambert’s mayoralty, he encouraged residents, schools, organisations and businesses to support two local Charities, Youth Concern and Age UK Bucks, who both were presented with £7600 each at the inaugurate ceremony.

Following these awards, the new Mayor of Aylesbury, Cllr Alan Sherwell and Deputy Mayor, Cllr Nidhi Mehta, processed out of the college atrium alongside previous Town Mayor to pass over the mayoral robes.

In his acceptance speech, the new Town Mayor, Cllr Alan Sherwell, announced PACE would be his chosen charity of the year. 

Deputy Mayor, Cllr Nidhi Mehta, is looking forward to the year ahead.

More from Local News

How To Listen - It's Easy!

Download our apps

Our Apps are now available for iOS, Android and Smart Speakers

Listening on Smart Speakers

Making it easier for you to connect to Bucks Radio via your smart speakers.



Follow Us